OLD Fiction

This was something I wrote when I was still in high school and reading romance novels.  It shows.

“Christian! Christian, put me down!” Michelle squealed. Christian slung her over his shoulder and carried her back toward the house.

“Why do you keep running away?” Christian asked, setting the servant girl down in front of him. “You know that if the master finds you, you’ll be flogged.”

“But I want to get out of here, Christian! Don’t you have… feelings for anyone who you know has feelings for you?”

“Well, I have feelings for someone, but she keeps running away from me and her only place to live.”

“Christian, I keep telling you. I have to get to Geoffrey. Don’t you understand?” Michelle asked, putting her hands on her hips.

“Geoffrey only sees you as a bed warmer. You’ll only be his mistress.”

“I’ll still be close to him.”

“Yes, but only in one way.”

“That’s better than no way at all,” Michelle pouted. She shrugged Christian’s hands off of her petite shoulders. Christian thought she was gorgeous when she was angry. He shoved the thought to the back of his mind and attuned himself to the subject at hand, trying to sound angry.

“You’ll only get hurt.”

“I don’t care.”

“But I do!” Christian shouted. He lowered his voice. “I care about you, Bitty.”

“But I keep telling you, Christian, I don’t love you. I love Geoffrey.”

“Michelle, you at least have to stay here until Geoffrey comes back,” Christian said, giving Michelle an exasperated look.

“What?”

“Listen to me, Bitty; I’ve known you for a long time. I’d hate to see you hurt, but if this makes you happy, then so be it. Geoffrey is coming here today. Wait until he gets here, and then get into the carriage. I’ll tell you when to go. He’ll take you, I’m sure of it.”

“Oh, thank you, Christian!” Michelle squealed again. She hugged him fiercely. As she ran off to pack, Christian shook his head. Why couldn’t she just be happy here with him? He could take care of her. He was seventeen years old now and pretty well off. He’d had a home to go to and two loving parents, never mind they weren’t his biological parents. Christian started to walk to the main house to do his chores. Geoffrey’s carriage pulled up to the front of the house. Christian ran back to the servant’s quarters.

“Bitty?” he called softly. He stopped himself when he remembered the reason for the nickname. When Michelle first came to the house, she seemed very mature, but her body was the tell-tale sign of her age. She wasn’t as developed as the master’s mistress had been. Christian had been carrying on with her for quite some time and has learned everything that he could, but when Bitty came, he was attracted to her instantly. He stopped seeing the master’s mistress, much to her dismay, and went to Bitty. Bitty was a quick learner and learned everything Christian knew. What was her name? Kellandra? That was it. It didn’t seem to matter now. Christian was surprised that he even remembered her name. It had been so long ago.

There wasn’t much immature about Bitty now, Christian thought dreamily as he remembered the last time that he and Bitty had been together. They had snuck off to the hayloft and spent as much time as they could spend with each other. She was tall and slim with curves in all the right places. She was always ready for whatever time that they could get alone together. Christian also remembered that night because it was the night that Bitty had met Geoffrey. He had been out riding with Master Jacobs and he caught them in the loft together. Bitty had been fully clothed and ready to leave, but Christian kept pulling her back into the straw. Geoffrey heard the noise and had come up to see what was wrong. Fortunately, Bitty had managed to get Christian’s pants back on before they were caught. Geoffrey had known right away what has been going on, but after some persuasion from Bitty, Geoffrey promised not to tell Master Jacobs. That was when Bitty fell madly in love with Geoffrey and had left Christian for him. A wry smile crossed his lips. If they had left when Bitty had wanted to, she would still be his and none of this would have ever happened. Christian cursed himself. He had only wanted a few more moments with her, but little did he know that those few moments were going to cost him his love.

Christian snapped out of his fantasy as Bitty stepped out of the shadows. She was wearing his favorite dress. It was a blue satin dress that Christian had saved money for months to buy. He had seen it in a store window and knew it was the only dress for her. The dress came to Michelle’s ankles and seemed to slim her already small waist. Christian could almost wrap his hands around her waist. A dark sash was tied around her middle and the neckline was scooped down to reveal just the right about of cleavage to make Christian’s mouth water. Bitty only wore the dress for special occasions, but it always looked lovely on her. Her skin looked more pristine and her hair seemed to take the shade of the blue and turn black like a raven’s wing. It framed her face with natural tendrils of curl. Christian longed to comb his fingers through that hair and make love to her one last time before she left his life forever. He tried to keep his voice level as he spoke to her. “He’s here, Bitty.” She almost took his breath away.

“That you so much, Christian,” Michelle said, looking at Christian with a loving smile. Christian found her so attractive. Why did she have to leave? She could be happy here with him if she’d just let herself try.

“Run, Bitty. Get in as fast as you can.”

“Thank you.I’ll never forget this.”

“Neither will I,” Christian thought to himself. He could take her into his arms, kiss her, and make love to her right here in her quarters…

“You owe me, Bitty. Come back when it’s safe and repay me,” Christian said with a smile.

“How much will it cost me?”

“I think you know,” he replied. Michelle only smiled at his remark.

“I’ll see you when it’s safe.”

“Get going.” Christian said, turning Michelle around and swatting her rump. Michelle turned and captured Christian’s lips in a kiss that cut him straight to the bone.

“I’ll see you later,” Michelle said, running to the coach. Christian walked as the driver let her in. He then turned and walked back to the house to finish the day’s activities.

~*~*~*~

“Master Jacobs?” Percy called as she rounded the corner of the study. Jonah Jacobs raised his head.

“Yes, Percy,” he said, closing the book he was reading.

“Master Jacobs, Mister Hoag is here to see you.”

“Again?”

“Yes, sir. He said he had some very pressing business to attend with you. He wishes to see you right away.”

“Show him in, Percy.I can’t imagine what this so-called business would be.”

Percy stepped out of the study. A few moments later, Geoffrey walked in, dragging a servant behind him. Master Jacobs realized that the girl was Michelle. Master Jacobs stood up from behind his desk.

“Is this the pressing business that you had to talk to me about? What did Michelle do to you?”

“It isn’t what she did to me; it’s what she wants to do for me. She’s offered to be my mistress.”

“I’m sorry. I apologize to you for this disgrace.”

“No, I’m not disgraced. I’d like to buy the girl from you.” Geoffrey said, sitting down in a chair opposite the desk. Geoffrey let go of Michelle’s arm. She scrambled from the room.

“Where did you find her? None of us had seen her since this morning.”

“She was waiting for me in my carriage, Jonah. She said that she had been there for some time. My driver told me that she had been there for at least an hour. She must have slipped in there. I had no idea she had been in there because I drove home. I thought you would want to know where she had gotten off to, so I decided to bring her back. She fought me every step of the way. She kept saying something about getting flogged. I knew that you would never hurt a woman and I told her so. Then she started babbling about someone else getting in trouble.”

“Then someone helped her to escape.”

“They must have, but the question, dear friend, is who? Most of your help is loyal to you. Who would have helped her to escape?”

“I have no idea.” Master Jacobs said, running a hand over his face. “I wish I did know.”

“It wouldn’t have been her lover, would it?”

“What lover?”

“Oh, that’s right. I never did tell you, did I? I caught them in the hay loft awhile ago. It was nothing serious. They had just been playing around.” Geoffrey smiled. “He was a handsome lad. He was tall, with blonde hair and grey eyes. He was very handsome, I have to admit.”

“Christian,” Master Jacobs said quietly.

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on April 3, 2009, in Original Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

