A Long Break and a Notice

To anyone who may be reading this journal:

I am participating this year in the NaNoWriMo competition once again and have decided to be an Municipal Liaison for my neck of the woods.  I’ve decided to post my story as I write from start to finish.  There are several reasons for this.  One: I believe it is important to many writers and not just WriMos to see that a story, book, or whatever is not a polished work the minute it leaves your fingers to the keyboard.  There is a LOT of crap that makes NO SENSE at all if the reader were to sit down and actually write.  I want others to know that we’re not putting down 50,000 words of perfect manuscript to page and will be ready to hit the publisher with it come December.

That’s why there’s editing month.

Two: WordPress, as pointed out to me by the lovely Killishandria, has a word counter at the bottom of the page that gives you a word count every time you stop typing and it saves the draft.  This will be extremely helpful once I start having word count goals to attain and don’t want to have to keep hitting the word count button every five minutes to see if I can stop writing for the day.  This takes a little of that pressure off and does it for me.  Not to mention it backs things up again if we end up losing something due to power outage or a keyboard full of coffee.  Which has happened to me once before.

Three: Accountability.  There have been several WriMos who have said they do prewriting.  There have been WriMos who have said to me that they have included things that were previously written in order to bump their word counts.  I like to know that what I do and what I have done is fair as far as beginning a story November 1st and finishing 50,000 words by the 30th.  If I’m posting it here as I get it done, it’s sort of proof that I’m doing it a little at a time and not cheating or blowing smoke.  I’m actually doing this and writing and making myself get over my humps.

I’ve also not been writing to save up the juices for November.  So a lot of my writing has been on hold, not just the story for the WriMo, so I can keep the flow bottled and let it spew in those first few weeks.  I already know how I want the story to start.  It’s just getting where I need to go that’s the problem.  I haven’t gotten that all planned out yet.

So here’s to November that is only 11 days away at this point.

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on October 20, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi,
    I recently started reporting again for the BG News in Bowling Green and we have some students who are participating in the National Novel Writing Month. The Web site listed you as the Municipal contact for the Black Swamp region. Would you be willing to lend an interview about your experience with NAMOWRIMO? Email me back if you are interested, thanks!
    Quentin.

Have some feedback?

