I’m Stuck!

So… writerly friends… I have a story I’ve been trying to pull together for literal years. I started writing it for a friend when he had a bad run of luck and have never finished. The premise of the story is when you’re dating someone and fall for them, they can potentially take a piece of you when they leave. You can have people walking around without arms or legs or sometimes entire halves of their bodies and you have people walking around with trunks full of parts they carry around. So it’s making allegory of “losing yourself” when someone leaves you or “carrying baggage”. I have a pretty happy-go-lucky main character and his significant other leaves him for someone else. I’ve explained the basics of this whole “parts exchange”, I just don’t know where to GO with the story. I wanted to have the main character start a “parts donation”, so to speak, but I don’t even know how he would go about it. Help? Suggestions? I have no idea where to even go here…

Anyone? Anyone?

Bueller?

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Interesting…I don’t know exactly how this would play out but – what if, as you said, he started a parts donation, and people traded – I’ve lost a leg, do you have one? Etc. So people walk around all mismatched. (Life’s a melting pot anyway)I would think if you are promiscuous, you would need a BIG trunk so you would need to get rid of these parts that are weighing you down. So it becomes a desperate need to get rid of these parts, as well as to find what you are lacking. I always think of the human connection element though – how we are all truly connected. It’s very interesting, I wish I could help you. Have you tried freewriting?

  2. deaubreydigest

    I finally pulled something out of my hat for this and wound up taking a different direction than I’d intended. I think it works in the grand scheme of things, but it was not where I saw the story going at all. He winds up making friends with Zuka again and starting up the parts donation based off of stuff from his former partner’s history. It seems like you hit a lot of the points I was aiming for in the story, so I look forward to submitting it for a contest around May 1st. I’d hoped it wasn’t too weird an idea.

Have some feedback?

