Procrastination, my Dear Friend

I had an unexpected day off today and I decided when I got up I would go downstairs and write for at least an hour or two today.

There is housework that needs done: laundry, dishes, sweeping. I have a tote of stuff I need to go through and decide what we’re doing with it, where it’s going and get it there I need to sew up some sweat pants of my son’s. He has a science project he has to do so he can get caught up on his schoolwork. I have to take the roommate to work. Somewhere in there I should have time to write before I have to start dinner tonight and walk the dog.

Twitter is much more interesting. I have to get caught up on everyone’s lives. And then there’s blog posts that I write about how much I procrastinate. I also check facebook and take extended absences to take my dog for a walk at the dog park since it’s not so bad out today and she needs exercise.

Don’t even get me started on World of Warcraft. That holds dangers all its own. I’ve broken the “I’ll just check my bank” habit. Because I check my bank and then send stuff to another account and then this toon needs this thing and that toon needs that thing and… you can see where this is going.

I really need to schedule it in. Take the time. Make an hour or two on a certain day like the time I set aside in November for NaNoWriMo. During November I bang out a 50k novel in 30 days. This last November I banged out a 75k novel in 30 days. If I can do that, I can write for an hour or two every Sunday.

Or in this case, Friday.

Either way, I need to get back to work and stop procrastinating by following the cool links people make on Twitter. They will still be there, even if I have to view them on my computer later. Crack the whip. Start writing.

Besides, I have a writing panel to put together.

**EDIT**

On the upside, I have now gone through the laundry upstairs and folded and put away most of it. I have my gym bag packed and ready to go in the car and the science project looks like a total flop. I know what it’s SUPPOSED to do, but the stupid food coloring just isn’t crawling up the veins. Now once I get my workspace cleared off and my son decides to bring the laptop down so he can work on his school stuff, maybe I’ll actually get some writing in before eight tonight. (We eat dinner late at our house.)

*sets a timer to make sure the boy is still on track and begins the writing process*

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

