Recipe book woes

… make a recipe book, I says. It’ll be great, I says. Type them all up to look the same, I says. Uniform and in sleeves, I says.

Won’t take long, I says…

trollface.jpg

I totally trolled myself.

I have many, many, MANY recipes. I do most of the cooking in my household and I get bored cooking the same thing. My family gets bored eating the same things. Therefore I try and change it up a little bit and find new things, especially for a seasonal rotation. Having chicken pot pie is great in the winter. In the summer, I don’t want to cook it, let alone eat it when it sits at a temperature higher than outside. Bleh.

Through my SO’s workplace, they do a get fit challenge every year and by being part of that challenge, we get a subscription for some healthy living magazine and a some of the recipes are amazing. Most of them, however, need a little tweaking. Combine that with the fact I like to play with my food equals a LOT of revisions before I’m happy with the outcome of a recipe.

I used to just scribble things out, rewrite it on the page I tore out of the magazine or printed off the internet and just use it until I couldn’t read it anymore. By that point I was either sick to death of it or had moved on to something else or, since I couldn’t read it, I’d just pitched it and thought back fondly on “that one thing I used to make”. Now that I’ve half accepted my role of domestic… well, Goddess isn’t the right word… neither is “master” or “homemaker”…

Wizard! I am a Domestic Wizard. That… that fits my household surprisingly well.

Anyway– Now that I’ve accepted my role of domestic wizard, I thought it would be awesome if I printed the recipes out and kept them in a three ring binder. Simple. Plenty of room for expansion. Not a permanent thing, so I could take out and put in as much as I wanted and replacing ruined recipes would be a breeze! If only that impetus had actually, oh, I don’t know… stuck with me.

I printed them out, made my notes, stuck them in my binder… and then promptly did the same thing I’d done before and just let them get messy until I couldn’t use them anymore. I lost one of my favorite recipes that way. So I thought I would turn over a new leaf and do something different. My girlfriend suggested I put my recipes in those little plastic sheet protectors so I could just wipe it off when something dripped or spilled on it. It would save me having to reprint them a dozen times over. Brilliant! (She’s such a smart monkey!) This led me to the idea that I should take all my recipes and put them all in a standard format. All of them would look the same, all of them would be laid out the same way and then I could drop the ingredients list into my grocery app and be all set! Brilliant, brilliant, BRILLIANT!

… not brilliant. This is a huge undertaking. I have typed up 20 of my recipes. I pitched the old ones. The recipes I never made go in a section all to themselves. I’ve decided they don’t go in a plastic sheath until I’ve made some edits. I haven’t typed those up at all yet. The recipes I use a lot are all in a pile awaiting typing. I have easily 40 recipes I need to get into the rotation again. I have that many or more that I’ve saved to try later. That doesn’t include the recipes I printed and will only use infrequently. I think I have a problem. I need an intervention or something. THIS IS SO TIME CONSUMING. What made me think this was a good idea again?? Domestic wizard my ass.

On the upside… I have a cooking and recipe blog where I will be backing up my favorites as soon as I’m done tweaking them. That blog can be found here. The recipes listed so far on the blog haven’t been edited. Before the night is through, they will be updated. Once I actually get my recipes written out again, I’ll post them in the blog a few at a time and you can feel free to take them, use them, do whatever you want with them. Dance madly around with them in a three ring binder while you sing about not wanting to type them up if you want to. That’s what I’ve been doing.

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

