The Monday Blog Game: Hallowe’en!

Halloween is my favorite holiday. It always has been. Other kids wanted to have birthday parties, I wanted to have Halloween parties. One year I even tried to get my dad to let me hold a haunted house in his barn. He specifically said no, but he let me hold the party there. It was a great backdrop. (I might even have some pictures if I can find them. If I do, I’ll share!) Not many people ever showed up to my parties, but the quality of person who showed up was always better, in my opinion.

One party in particular I’ll never forget. We were setting up a pinata in the yard. We hung it from a huge maple tree by a string and everyone was going to take turns. I’d built the pinata myself. That sucker wasn’t breaking for ANYTHING. Since it wouldn’t split with the plastic bat, we’d hauled out the steel bat my dad used when he played baseball in high school. I ran inside to tell mom and use the bathroom and by the time I got back outside, one of my classmates, Melissa, was lying on the ground. My best friend had taken a swing at the pinata with the bat, but instead of getting the pinata, Korrie clobbered Melissa in the head. Thankfully she wasn’t bleeding, but the fun of the pinata was lost after that. Melissa’s mom showed up and took her to the hospital. She didn’t have a concussion, but she did have a hell of a bruise for the next three weeks.

The last Halloween party I had was my sophomore year of high school. Only four people showed up, one being my boyfriend. They all left together to go TP someone’s house. I sat in the highly decorated barn by myself and waited for no one else to show. Good thing for them it was one of the better nights of my life. It was actually where part of my story was born. It was when I created Winter. A few weeks later, Winter met Arriadne, Charysta and Alyiana.

 

I haven’t had Halloween parties since then. Most of the parties I went to were thrown by a friend of mine who has a pumpkin bash every year. Everyone gets together and carves pumpkins. Maybe next year I should host another Halloween party. I think it’s about time to restart the tradition.

~*~*~*~

The “rules” for the Monday Blog Game are simple – Everyone is invited to play along, and I hope you do! Here’s how: Write something about the weekly topic, either in the comments or on your blog (if you write on your own blog, link back or comment to Susan’s blog so they know how to find you!)

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

