WIP Blog Hop!

Ruth Ellen Parlour tagged me in a blog hop. We’re all talking about our Work in Progress and I’ll be talking about the Chronicles of Atlantis. It’s so WIP the title isn’t even set!

Here are the rules:

  • Give credit to the person/blog that tagged you
  • Post the rules for this hop
  • Answer these ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress) on your blog
  • Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

What is the working title of your book?

The second book in the series is the only one with a working title. It’s called Baby Boy. I’m one of those really bad people who suck at titles. I suppose I’ll come up with one once the book is written.
Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea for the series has been something I’ve been puttering with since I was seventeen. The premise begins with the destruction of Atlantis and leads to a final battle to save the world. It involves characters who have  been with me a long time and they all needed to evolve before I could write them.

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s an urban fantasy with horror elements. I didn’t know my genre until I read Staying Dead by Laura Anne Gilman.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Damn. Now I need to use Google-fu.

Winter: Although she’s older than Winter appears, I based Winter’s looks from the lovely Dame Helen Mirren. If I could get Milla Jovovich to play Winter, I think I would die happy.

Makiros: I think a young Peter Steele would be the closest I could come to Maki. Unfortunately Pete passed two or three years ago and by the time I get the books written and optioned for a movie, he would have been way too old anyway.

Baby: After applying Google-fu, I think Baby might need to change his half. Instead of being Japanese, I think he’s going to be Korean so Hero Jaejoong can play him. He’s the closest actor I can find.

Niakon: He started as a rather lame copy of Antonio Banderas’s Armand. I think Banderas is a little too intense for Niakon. He has just the right personality for when Niakon lets the magic loose, but I don’t know Banderas could pull off his wimpy brainiac normal routine. I don’t have anyone cast for him in my head, unfortunately. If you want a NSFW version of another character who looks an awful lot like Baby, you can look up Pujo.

… I really wish I could find an excuse to use the Winchesters somewhere in there. Damn. Time to introduce a new character!

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Following an ancient lineage, fighting demons and being the harbinger of death rarely look good on a job application. (That doesn’t really describe anything at all, I know.)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an Agency?

I honestly don’t know. If none of the publishers I submit to are interested in picking up the story, I suppose I will self-publish. I want this out there. It’s been with me too long to not be written.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

If we add all the 50k NaNoWriMo ventures and all the writing I’ve done for the characters, I’d say around six months total. However, I have to keep changing stuff and it’s really annoying.

What other books would you compare your story to within your genre?

Ugh. I can’t really compare it with anyone’s books. It isn’t that I’m doing anything drastically different, but it’s hard to pigeon-hole your writing like that. (Especially when you don’t consider yourself good.) I would like to follow the lines of Staying Dead by Laura Anne Gilman or Sisters Red by Jackson Pierce.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I’ve always been interested in the myth of Atlantis. From there, I played Vampire: the Masquerade and Rifts tabletop RPGs. Winter had a strong upbringing in V:tM and Maki was born of Rifts Atlantean tattooed warriors with a little smattering of Mage: the Ascension. I have always believed all religions have a grain of truth if you’re willing to look. Religious texts pulled some of their ideas together for me.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Things aren’t always as they appear. The rise and fall of civilization follows a cycle and sometimes the things that go bump in the night are worth listening to.

My tags are:

Since I don’t follow as many writers on my blog, I put an open call on twitter to a few specific writers I thought might be interested. If they link back to me, Word Press will let me know and I’ll update. 🙂

Others who have participated:

Ruth Ellen Parlour

Irman Writes

AE Outloud

HM Jacobs

Clare Davidson

Story Addict

If you’ve participated and you aren’t on the above list, leave a link to your blog entry in the comments so we can keep the blog hop going!

 

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Atlantis fascinates me 🙂 Best of luck on the novel!

  2. There seem to be a lot of books about it. The only thing more enigmatic than the island and its history is which version is the truth. I figure I’ll take what I like and throw out what I don’t and then put my own ideas in there. It’s just as valid as anything else, right?

  3. Sounds like some good stuff! Best of luck with it 🙂

  4. As long as you can make it original, I say any idea goes 🙂

Have some feedback?

