Monday Blog Game: Choose your Own Adventure

Since there was no Monday Blog Game over at Susan’s blog this week, Since I didn’t look closely enough and apparently can’t read what the official Monday Blog Game post was on Susan’s blog, I decided to do my own. On Tuesday. Yes, I know, I’m a slacker.

I decided to do a piece about those Choose your own Adventure books I used to read as a kid.

It looks like the books are still being made, too, if you look on Barnes and Noble.

When we would take our weekly trips in Elementary school to the library on the top floor, I would always be plopped down on a bean bag at the shelves by the Choose your own Adventure books. I went through the book multiple times, reading through each choice in order to the final outcome. Then I would flip back again and read through a second time, choosing all the options until I’d explored them all. I was always happiest when I’d come to the  best possible outcome. We made it out alive, I made a friend and my friend and I went on about our lives like nothing happened.

One by one my friends would come over and see what I was reading. By the end of the third grade, five or six of us were jammed in that one back corner. We had to share bean bags because they wouldn’t all fit. There was always an odd man out who had to use a chair. Most of the time we took turns.

Choose your Own Adventure books were a gateway to Nancy Drew mysteries. Through Nancy Drew, I found the Hardy Boys. From there, I stumbled on Agatha Christie.

When I got into the internet while I was in my last years of high school, I set up an Angelfire webpage as a choose your own adventure novel. I sometimes wonder if it’s still out there somewhere in cyberspace.

[Susan actually asked for recipes this week. If you want to pop over to her blog and do the actual assignment like a good student, you can link back to her blog using the link below. I’m a chucklehead.]

~*~*~*~

The “rules” for the Monday Blog Game are simple – Everyone is invited to play along, and I hope you do! Here’s how: Write something about the weekly topic, either in the comments or on your blog (if you write on your own blog, link back or comment to Susan’s blog so they know how to find you!)

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. And then I realize she DID have a post. It’s asking for favorite holiday recipes. I’m a chucklehead. 🙂

Have some feedback?

