The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

blog-hop

Welcome to the NEXT BIG THING Blog Hop.

What is a blog hop? Basically, it’s a way for readers to discover authors new to them.  I hope you’ll find new-to-you authors whose works you enjoy.  On this stop on the blog hop, you’ll find a bit of information on me and one of my books and links to five other authors you can explore!

Earth Angel by Ruth Ellen Parlour

 I was invited to participate in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop by the lovely Ruth Ellen Parlour who was previously featured on this blog for her book Earth Angel (that I am terribly behind in reading! I’m sorry!).

Earth Angels of Eardesha, fighting against their chosen destiny, discover a secret the God’s never told and use it against their sworn enemy.

Eardesha is protected by the twelve Gods and their Earth Angels. Fighting against her destiny as an Earth Angel, Faith is returning to the temple for her lover who she had to leave behind. Gabrielle, a criminal, escapes from prison only to be guided back by the God’s to help Faith stop a war. Threatened by invasion from the Krieger, Eardesha’s military trains convicted criminals into a brutal and disposable army. Gabrielle and Faith discover a power the Gods have kept secret for thousands of years, a secret that would change the future of Eardesha, and use it to stop the war.

Click here to read Chapter One

Click to read reviews for Earth Angel

I’m terrible about following guidelines, so I’m going to change up the format a bit. Most of the posts SHOULD be similar to this one, however. In this blog hop, my fellow authors and I, in our respective blogs, have answered ten questions about our current book or work-in-progress (giving you a sneak peek).  We’ve also included some behind-the-scenes information about how and why we write what we write–the characters, inspirations, plotting and other choices we make. I hope you enjoy it!Please feel free to comment and share your thoughts and questions. Here is my Next Big Thing!1: What is the working title of your book?
As I may have posted before, I am working on a series of books under the working title “The Chronicles of Atlantis“. The individual books have yet to be named, but the first book in the series is being tentatively named Pandora’s Box. There was another name I was toying with, but I’ve written it down somewhere and since lost it.
2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’ve been toying with these characters for literal years: trying and tweaking and running them through the paces until I can’t see straight anymore. Every day new ideas come to me in the strangest places. Today while at work, I had the idea of my necromancer character being infected with a blood infection and that’s how she does what she does. Originally I had no idea how she did what she did or where her power came from. I picked up bits of the four horsemen of the apocalypse and since there were four childhood friends at the original core of the story, that became a plot point.

I’ve gotten inspiration from many of the books I’ve read. Some little grain of their story pops out and says “Yes! Although it doesn’t really do that. Or work this way. Or really function the way they say at all. But it’s just alike!” By the time I write it, there’s a nod there, but it’s hopefully original content.

3: What genre does your book come under?

I believe, technically, it would be urban fantasy. It has elements of horror and pre-dystopian as well.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This question always gets me. I don’t know who I would get to play the characters other than Winter. Winter would be played by Dame Helen Mirren. Maki would have to be some kind of merge between the late Peter Steele and Adam Levine. Alex has a photo, but I can’t credit who she is, so I won’t post it. I am STILL trying to find a base model for Baby.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

What if the Grim Reaper isn’t so keen on this whole “end of the world” business?

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

It is currently a Work in Progress. I would like to be traditionally published and have a handful of publishers in mind, but I’m not putting anything out until it’s even been submitted.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I am still writing. The original first book was drafted in 30 days during NaNoWriMo. I then put it in a virtual drawer and didn’t look at it for a year. I realized it was horrible and put it away for another six months before I began toying with it. I realized just how huge my story was and decided to cut it down and weed things out. I’ve begun rewrites on that book, which is now the second book in the series.

I drafted my now first book of the series in about two months time. It is, again, horrible. I’m working on fleshing that one out and then I’ll begin the rewrites. Rewrites are painful, but necessary.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It’s similar to The Retrievers series by Laura Ann Gilman and Sisters Red by Jackson Pierce. There’s a little bit of Anne Rice in there as well, but she’s traditionally seen in the horror genre.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Originally the idea came from Mage: the Awakening. I had a pair of twins, Maki and Alex. They were the children of one of my Vampire: the Masquerade characters who earned the nickname “Winter”. From there, I imported Makiros into Rifts where I created him as an Atlantean tattooed warrior. Atlantis stuck. Everything else went to the wayside. The twins father was originally played by another person. I took the liberty of creating a new paternal line for them once the game fell apart. Everything else has evolved over the years.

As for my inspiration? The story pushes me to write. If I don’t write, it’s like I get this extra build-up in my head that makes me anxious until I sit down and put the words to page. It’s like that with every story I write.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I hope their interest has already been piqued, but the story involves vampires, werewolves, necromancers and zombies, the four horsemen of the apocalypse, the ancient city of Atlantis, old horrors and new demons. The end of the world is coming and only those responsible can stop it. Will they?

The Next Big Thing tour updates every Wednesday. You’ll find five new authors from each other author to participate. Below you will find authors who will be joining me virtually, via blog, next Wednesday January 30th. Please be sure to bookmark their sites, and add them to your calendars for updates on their upcoming books!  Happy Writing and Reading!

  1. Rayne Hall
  2. Open
  3. Open
  4. Open
  5. Open
About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on January 23, 2013, in Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the one – sentence synopsis, it sounds very intriguing! Thanks for the mention too 🙂

Have some feedback?

