Character Development, Bad Beginnings and Critique

Writer’s Digest sends me email occasionally with tips and tricks they’re releasing into the wild. Tom Pawlik wrote a piece about character development I found interesting. He gives some sound tips on writing believable characters to throw into explosions. It’s given me an idea why my main character is so damned BORING and maybe how to fix him. He’s so DULL. I have to come up with a way to make him give a shit and right now? He doesn’t. His life’s goal is to sit in a basement transcribing old books. *eyeroll*

This one is 12 Cliches to Avoid when Starting your Story. I personally HATE the “waking up” beginning. Start with them getting off in the shower, not the “I wake up with my head full of sunshine and my heart full of roses” because seriously? I also hate the “getting ready for a date” trope. Okay, yeah, we know what the character looks like, but it’s easier to just drop bits of your main character throughout the story.

As a bit of an after note, in case anyone is curious, I’m finally DONE with my kidney issues and on the mend. Now on to editing, writing and critting. Hurray!

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in For Writers. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Uh…crud. I’ve got a novel planned where the opening scene largely serves to introduce my protagonist’s pet – the Family Showcase, in other words. Given that the novel pretty much revolves around said pet, I’m not sure whether I’ll need to have a rethink or not.

  2. deaubreydigest

    Not necessarily. There are good ways and bad ways to do it. You don’t want to feel like you’re going through a wax museum when you’re “meeting” the family, but as long as you have the character moving and not infodumping, you should be fine.

    I’m bad at spreading the details out throughout the story, sadly.

Have some feedback?

