Demolition Derby

I currently drive a twenty year old Chevy Corsica gifted from my grandmother who inherited it from my cousin who bought it from a sweet little old lady who only drove it to church and the grocery store. Other than minor maintenance, it’s been an awesome car.

I drove that car from Findlay to Columbus every week. Two hours down, two hours back. Every week for two years. I took it back and forth to work. I drove all over town.

Two years ago it blew the engine. I had to have it replaced. Then the pulley assembly blew while in rush hour on 270 south of Sawmill. I replaced that. Now it’s leaking coolant again into the cabin of the car. The engine runs hot, burns off oil. It’s knocking again. The acceleration bogs down.

The driver’s side door doesn’t work right. It wouldn’t open one day and once I wiggled it open, it wouldn’t CLOSE. I drove from Sawmill to Perimeter holding my door closed with a bungee cord and my left arm. I drive back to work that way.

Thankfully once I got there, my co-worker jimmied the lock with a flat head screwdriver so it would open and close again. Now we just need to coax the door open now and again.

The car is getting ready to blow the engine again. I am not sinking another two or three grand into the car again. It’s time for a new one.

I just hate a monthly payment while I’m still working on medical bills, but…

I go to test drive a car tomorrow after I get the dog groomed. I don’t trust car salesmen. I just hope this goes well. It will be my first car purchase.

I’ll keep you posted.

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on June 30, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

