School Daze

I know the title has been overdone, but it really is a very apt description of how I feel of late. My son started school on the 19th of August. School supply shopping started a month before that. He was new to the district, so there were forms to fill out and things to get registered and repeating those because, inevitably, the school district lost the paperwork the first time around. There are lunches to be bought and activities to participate in and some crazy part of me thought I wanted to be involved with the PTA.

I am currently working on two batches of brownies totaling 72 2 or 3 inch squares a piece. The first batch is done in a minute and will be frosted and cooling while I prepare the second batch. They are dropped off tonight at 5:30 before the open house for the school. This is with having a six day work week at my main job. Don’t ask how part time my writing has become.

In amongst all of this, however, I have been working on a few calls for submission. I had an old story I decided to polish up for a submission call. I don’t know how all of you feel about taking old writing and “cleaning it up”, but I found the process to be less polish and more “completely rewrite the story so it only vaguely resembles the story it was before”.

Nope. Six more minutes on the brownies. The knife didn’t come out clean.

I rewrote an entire vampire short for a submission call. I finished edits four days before the submission date. I went to the website to submit and the publisher had gone out of business.

I’ve begun edits on another piece due in three days. Not happening. I’m sure it won’t be the only gay cowboy anthology they ever call for, but I’m disappointed I won’t get it done. I haven’t made time to sit down and do the extensive edits it calls for. I’ll have something for later down the line- just like the shifter story I’m working on-but it’s disappointing to put that hard work into something and have it peter out. Even if it will be something someone is looking for later.

The ninja anthology I submitted to is supposed to come out at some point this year. I haven’t heard anything back from the editor so I hope my edits are sufficient. I’d like to make it more, but I’m not holding my breath. With all the deadlines swooshing past, I’m not holding on to anything more than my YA I’m writing presently.

Now back to coffee and brownies. I currently have 60 brownies sitting in a pan, the baking pan soaking so I can wash it and begin again. Maybe after that I can get some actual writing done. Round two, fight!

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on September 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

