Etymology, Promotion and Repetition

I have been researching as of late. I’ve been looking up what makes a steam powered engine function. I found the layout of Victorian era ships. I’ve been learning about Victorian vernacular. I learned about esophageal cancer thanks to my dad being diagnosed with that very disease.

I have been having a grand ol’ time looking up the meanings behind words at the Online Etymology Dictionary. Have a phrase you want to use? Don’t know when it originated? No problem. Plug it in and look it up! I can imagine it would be great for period pieces.

Something else I found useful was the Word Frequency Counter. It’s a free website you plug your work into and it checks for repetition. Extremely helpful for me since I have a bad habit of using “it”. I use Autocrit for a similar function.

I have also been researching book promotion and what I can do to get myself out there.

I never thought I would have a book released this early or that I would have sold twenty-four copies of that book in the first year it was released. I felt terrible that this publisher took a chance on putting my story out as a novella as I stood with my pants around my ankles holding a burlap sack. I scrambled to find ways to promote that book.

I found this gem today and, given book trailers are taking off, I wanted to both save for posterity and share with others. Ellis Shuman takes us through making a book trailer in under an hour and all for free. He gives helpful tips as well. Definitely saving this for later as I’m hoping to  have a book out by the end of this year.

Another article I found useful that was linked to me on facebook was 7 Reasons why Writers Need to Start using Video for Book Promotion and the article made a LOT of sense. While I am nervous about actually putting myself out there (especially since my voice is irritating to listen to), I figure what the hell. It can’t hurt anything and as I have very little money to travel, it could help me connect to my readers. I’m all about trying new things, especially things I can do at home and for free.

Hopefully this helps someone else who feels tossed into promoting their writing. Thankfully I have a support network in a lot of the people who will be reading this blog. Do you have suggestions for promotion? Want to help a fellow writer out? Drop your suggestions in the comments and be sure to link back to your blog!

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on May 29, 2014, in For Writers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

