Digging Ditches: 10 Views to a Suicide in the Family

This is a really strong account of what it’s like to be on both sides of the fence in a kind of Schrodinger’s dance with depression and suicide. Very apt. TW: Suicide

Steve Huff's Blog

Prologue

My brother David as a boy. Top right: with our mother. My brother David as a boy. Top right: with our mother.

On August 20, 2000, my brother committed suicide. David Richard Huff was just over a month away from his 42nd birthday.

I have written about David almost every year since, usually around the anniversary of his death. Some years I make a minimal acknowledgement that it happened, a tweet, perhaps, including the number or web address for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. Some years I write something in-depth.

This year, because suicide is so much in the news after the heartbreaking death of the gloriously gifted comedian and actor Robin Williams, a performer I’d loved ever since I first heard the word “Shazbot” in the late 70s, I feel like I can’t escape the subject. So here I am, again. I am tired of reading the things even the most well-meaning people have to say about mental…

View original post 1,964 more words

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on August 15, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

