Once a roleplayer, always a roleplayer

This comes from the lovely Michelle Bellanger. I, as an old school Vampire: the Masquerade player, am intensely interested in reading the culmination of one Storyteller’s rendition of the world. This was too good not to reblog.

Stories and Dreams

As many of you know, I’ve been a gamer since about the time I could roll dice. I was in fourth grade when my remarkably progressive public school introduced us to Dungeons & Dragons, encouraging my gifted class to play the game as the perfect union of math and creativity (if you remember how to calculate old school ThAC0, then you definitely remember the math part!). D&D was set in worlds inspired by the fiction of Tolkien and other fantasy greats and while I enjoy high fantasy well enough, I didn’t find a game world that really gripped me till Vampire: The Masquerade came along in 1991. They had me at vampires, but the World of Darkness against which White Wolf’s storytelling system played out was what really seized my imagination.

Set in a modern world a step off from our own where magic and monsters existed in the…

View original post 982 more words

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on October 11, 2014, in General Geekery. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?

