Needs more cowbell

Going through the edits on my prologue, most of the crits said it needed more emotion. I’d always thought I was good at emotion. But they’re right. It falls flat. I don’t get the feeling she’s in danger. As a matter of fact, my writer knowledge got in the way. She’s not in danger. She won’t be hurt because Baby is coming to save her. I need to put her in the “now”, so to speak, so she seems to be in danger.

I went perusing how to add emotion to my writing and none of the links help. I keep saying, “I’ve done all that.” Some of the advice isn’t really helpful at all, saying YOU need to do it and YOU need to feel it and YOU need to… blah blah yeah. I know I need to. I need someone to tell me HOW.

I’ve always been a specific example kind of person. I need specifics to make any sense in what I’m working on. I can look at most examples and go “And?”

So. Back to the drawing board for me. However, out of all of the pages I read through, a post from The Editor Blog seemed to be the most helpful.

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Have some feedback?