Monday Blog Game: Candy

In high school, I had a weekly ritual. Every afternoon after school, I would stop off at the corner convenience store in the little town I passed through on my way home and bought a Snickers bar and a Pepsi. It became a tradition for my best friend. It was enough of a tradition, some of our friends started calling us Snickers and Pepsi. I was active. I danced. I didn’t eat most of my school lunch because it was disgusting. So my snack before I started in on homework got me through until mom called for dinner.

Surprisingly enough, I’d forgotten about it. She found me on facebook and reminded me after her dad bought her a Snickers and a Pepsi the day she missed her class reunion. He buys the tiny bottles of Pepsi and the snack size Snickers bars for her kids. Somehow I think if I showed up with my son to visit, he’d get one as well.

My son developed a taste for Snickers this Halloween. They were left over in the candy bowl when the trick or treaters didn’t show in full force like I’d expected. He’s never been a fan of crunchy candy or anything with nuts. He asked to try one on the promise I would eat it if he didn’t like it. Needless to say, I now have to share my Snickers. The tradition lives on.

~*~*~*~

The “rules” for the Monday Blog Game are simple – Everyone is invited to play along, and I hope you do! Here’s how: Write something about the weekly topic, either in the comments or on your blog (if you write on your own blog, link back or comment to Susan’s blog so they know how to find you!)

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a great story – I love that your son now likes Snickers too. Really cool that you reconnected with your friend through Facebook. I only recently got onto Facebook but it’s been a blast – and I’ve reconnected with a few old friends too!

  2. What a sweet story! Sometimes I forget about little things like that and when a friend reminds me it’s all the more sweet for remembering.

  1. Pingback: Monday Blog Game: Who Likes Candy!* | Spann of Time

Have some feedback?