Character tracking and development

I know I’m not the only writer in the world who has trouble with characters. Most specifically, I have a hard time detailing out my villains. In the series I’m slowly working with, my villain is a complete joke. He’s a convenience to give the main character something to fight against.

That means the story is going to suck.

In talking with Rayne Hall about her Villains book, she said the villains need to be just as fleshed out as the protagonist. I don’t want a happenstance bad guy who falls down the stairs at the end and the world is saved, thanks to banana peels.

I wish you could see the dirty look my main character just gave me as I seriously contemplated doing something like that to him. If looks could kill…

I poked around through the internet and found three really good character sheets. The first is by Fire Eyes in the Dark. This sheet is seriously detailed and by the time you’re done, you’ve got a damned good idea what the character is like. Abigail Nussey also has a very detailed character sheet available. I’m really impressed with the details and some of the small things I’d never consider for my character. Epiguide.com had a pretty impressive sheet as well. I believe Fire Eyes was reposted on Gaia Online without credit (go figure) and I’ve found others of similar vein who didn’t have a PDF or RTF download like eclectics.com.

Regardless! I wanted to share some pretty damned good character sheets.

As I spent a little time searching Scrivener templates, I found one for the Snowflake Method. I believe I’ll be trying this one out as well. šŸ™‚

About Carrie Fulk Vaughn

Carrie Fulk Vaughn (C.V. Madison) is a licensed massage therapist, author of LGBTQIA, Urban fantasy, horror & romance. Gamer geek full of Mountain Dew and schadenfreude pie. Twitter addict. Ball jointed doll collector.

Posted on February 5, 2013, in For Writers. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I hope you find the Scrivener template as useful as I have! I love the one-paragraph story summary for each character. I somehow managed to turn the summary for my main character into a blurb, and every time I read it, I can’t wait to get stuck back into writing! It’s an awesome cure for writer’s block šŸ™‚

  2. Unfortunately I didn’t look at the version before downloading. It was Mac. I’m PC. šŸ˜¦

    I have a series of books I’ve been trying to plan out and it’s just NOT working with other methods. I thought perhaps this might work a little better for me.

  3. That’s probably because I saved it as a template file instead of a regular Scrivener file. If you like, I’ll save it as a regular version and email it to you.

    Regards,

    Belinda

    Twitter @belindacrawford
    Blog http://www.belindacrawford.com

  4. That would be amazing! Thank you so much!!

    I will send you an email so you have my email address. šŸ˜€

  1. Pingback: Four Character Sheets to the Wind | The DeAubreyDigest

Have some feedback?